Meeting Archive:
Safe at School: Parent Advocacy Workshop


Meeting Description:
Safe at School: Parent Advocacy Webinar

    •  Wednesday, September 28th 8:00 PM Eastern
       (7 PM Central, 6 PM Mountain, 5 PM Pacific)
    •  Registration for the live webinar is limited to 300
    •  Free access to recorded webinar in early
       October at www.diabetes.org/safeatschool

Expect to learn about:

    •  Safe at School campaign principles & goals
    •  School diabetes care challenges
    •  Federal and state laws
    •  Developing a 504 plan & strategies to
       overcome challenges
    •  Key resources for families & schools

To participate in the live webinar, you will need to pre-register, and will need both a phone and an internet connection at the time of the broadcast.
 
Participant phone lines will be muted during the webinar, but we welcome your questions!
You can submit questions when you register now, or during the live webinar.
Details
Date: Wed, Sep 28, 2011
Time: 08:00 PM EDT
Duration: 1 hour
Host(s): Maren McGowan
 Presenter Information
Crystal Jackson
 
Crystal is Associate Director of Legal Advocacy at the American Diabetes Association (ADA)'s National Office in Alexandria, Virginia. Her primary responsibility is managing the Association’s Safe at School Campaign. Crystal is considered a national authority on the rights of students with diabetes and has spoken at conferences throughout the country on how to effectively advocate on behalf of students with diabetes, training hundreds of parent advocates, attorneys, and health care professionals.
 
A parent of a child with diabetes, Crystal began her advocacy as a volunteer for ADA when she and another parent advocate teamed up to pass the first state diabetes school legislation in the country which provides comprehensive coverage for students with diabetes in Virginia. Simultaneously she pursued a complaint with the Office of Civil Rights of the Department of Education resulting in a settlement that is a model for safe and effective diabetes care.

Joyce Boudoin
 
Joyce began her work as a volunteer school advocate on behalf of her daughter, who was diagnosed with diabetes at the age of 4. 
 
When the local Florida school district wanted to transfer her daughter to another school because of her diabetes Joyce successful ly advocated to keep her daughter in her home school.   Joyce is now trained as an Advanced School Advocate, and uses her training and experience to help other families by facilitating parent advocacy workshops and providing individual case assistance.